Chicken Pot Pie Soup

Although many people consider apple pie to be the traditional American pie, pot pie has actually been around a lot longer! Pot pie was an easy way to make a whole meal out of only a few ingredients. After having my first chicken pot pie a few years ago, I was hooked. Either in the pie shell, or scooped into a bread bowl, I like it both ways! I especially like the following recipe, I can make it up in the morning and do not have to worry about supper for the rest of the day!

dsc_2442

Ingredients:

  • 3 c. of cooked chicken
  • 4 c. chicken broth
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 3 ribs of celery, diced
  • 1 13.5 ounce can of coconut milk
  • 2 large carrots, sliced
  • 1 c. frozen peas
  • 6 cloves of garlic
  • salt
  • pepper
  • fresh sage
  • 1 small potato, diced (optional)

Instructions:

Pour the chicken broth into a crockpot and add the chicken. Sauté the onion and celery in a cast iron skillet. Transfer the onion and celery into a high power blender (I use a Vitamix, you could probably use a food processor, it just wouldn’t be as puréed) and add the can of coconut milk. Blend until there are no chunks. Pour the mixture into the crockpot. Next, blend your carrots into small chunks. Add those to the crockpot.  Add the peas, salt, pepper, sage, garlic, and potato. Stir everything to combine. I set my crockpot on high until the pot pie boiled, then turned it down to low. Serve with your favorite dinner roll!

dsc_2532

Thought I would add a few chicken photos to go with the ‘chicken’ pot pie recipe (with no other intentions though!).

dsc_2514

They enjoyed getting out at the beginning of the week when the yard was free of snow and ice.

dsc_2508

As a reward for letting them out, I got 4 eggs the following day compared to the one egg a day I had been getting! Yay! I like that kind of reward!

Have a great week!!

by Alexa

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pie Soup

  1. Fun reading your comments. Almost like having you right here talking to us. Homemade chicken soup is always delicious. AND, always love seeing the chickens. They look so regal.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment