Kitchen Experiments!

It’s always fun to try new things in the kitchen! There has been lots of cooking and baking going on in the kitchen the last few weeks. Here are a few of the creations that were made:

Homemade fresh pesto! This year I grew basil in my herb garden, and because I love pesto on my pizza, I decided to try making some. I looked up a recipe and found one that I liked. Here is what I used:

1 cup of fresh basil leaves

3 garlic cloves

1/2 T of lemon juice

2 T of grated raw cows cheese

2 T of sunflower seeds*

2 T of olive oil

I chopped the seeds, olive oil, and garlic in the food processor. I washed the basil leaves and then put them and the lemon juice in the food processor. After chopping those ingredients up I added the cheese. I pulsed the mixture until it was smooth. Then I spread it on half of my pizza. It was delicious!! I will definitely make it again! This recipe makes a 1/2 cup of pesto. It can be stored in the fridge for up to a week, and can be frozen for up to 3 months. If you do freeze it, leave out the cheese, and add it right before you serve it again.

* I would recommend grinding my sunflower seeds before adding it to the rest of the ingredients. I did not, and my seeds were not fully chopped up, so the pesto was kind of chunky.

Pesto Pizza

Pesto Pizza

IMG_4927

Yum!

The next thing on the menu was canned apple pie filling! I picked my apples from my cousin’s neighbor’s apple trees. I got Jonathans, McIntosh, and green Fuji’s. I used Jonathans and McIntosh in my filling. Here is how I did it:

I  washed, peeled, and sliced my apples (about 5-6 quarts). Then I tossed them with 8 teaspoons of tapioca flour, 1 tablespoon of cinnamon, and 1/4 tablespoon of cloves. I melted a 1/2 cup of honey and stirred that into the apples. Then I spooned the apples into 4 quart jars, filling them to about 1 inch from the top. I heated about 4 quarts of apple juice and poured that into the jars, filling them about 1 inch from the top. Then I boiled my lids, screwed them on with rings, and put them in the canner to water bath for 30 minutes. I haven’t tried them yet, but they sure do look delicious! I plan on saving three to enter in fair next year!

IMG_4934 IMG_4930

Canned apple pie filling!

Canned apple pie filling!

While I was busy canning my mom was busy making pumpkin pie bars! Yum!

Pumpkin Pie Bars!

Pumpkin Pie Bars!

I also got to have popcorn last night! It was a special treat for being off inhalers for a whole year and as a celebration for being on the Paleo diet for a year! Yay, popcorn!

IMG_4970

Please let me know if you like these posts. Anna and I are new to blogging, so we are just figuring out what to post about. If you would like me to stick to a certain topic instead of just randomly posting about things that are happening, please let me know. Thank you for reading!

By Alexa

6 thoughts on “Kitchen Experiments!

  1. Love the variety and pictures in your posts! Recipes are fun but would be even better if you came to my house and became my “in house” cook.😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

